The Robert F. and Evelyn Nelson Wulf Professorship in the Humanities

The application deadline for OHC Teaching Fellowships for the 2021-22 academic year is Monday, October 26th, 2020 at 4 p.m.

For information and application form, see:


The Wulf Professorship supports the development of new or substantially revised undergraduate courses that identify, examine carefully, and respond critically to ethical issues that confront individuals and society.

Such issues might include but are not limited to:
• the structure and bases of human values
• the moral development of individuals
• the nature of character and integrity
• the appreciation of individual rights
• the nature of social responsibility

The Wulf Professorship seeks to promote open, critical examination of differing viewpoints and sets of values in an intellectually rigorous setting.

Up to $4,000 for Course Enrichment

The Wulf Professorship makes available up to $4,000 for:
• curriculum development
• course enrichment
• guest speakers
• instructional materials
• classroom activities
• related research assistance
• other activities related to the approved course

$4,500 Summer Salary

Wulf Professors must devote a minimum of 4 consecutive weeks during the summer to course development. In returen they will receive $4,500 (plus OPE) in summer salary support. This is the same as for the regular Teaching Fellowship.

Team-teaching Option

In the case of a team-taught course, both instructors will receive $4,500 (plus OPE) in summer salary for curriculum development. Team-taught courses are eligible for up to $4,000 in course enrichment funds, awarded per course (not per fellow).


The Wulf Professorship in the Humanities was established in 1993 through an endowment made to the Oregon Humanities Center former OHC Board of Visitors member Robert F. Wulf and Evelyn Nelson Wulf.

For more information, plese contact Jena Turner, (541) 346-1001.


Past Wulf Professors


Diana Garvin, Romance Languages: Fascism and Neo-Fascism (RL 400)

Alejandro A. Vallega, Philosophy: World Philosophies (PHIL 242)

Mary Wood, English and Kristin Yarris, International Studies: Mind, Madness, and Society: Schizophrenia Across Cultures and Genres (ENG/INTL 410/510)

Nicolae Morar, Philosophy and Environmental Studies: Clinical Ethics (PHIL 410)

Carol Silverman, Anthropology: Gypsies/Roma: Others/Selves (ANTH 210)

Colin Koopman, Philosophy: Information Ethics (PHIL 407)

No award given

No award given

Pedro García-Caro, Romance Languages: US Hispanic Literature: Herencia Cultural (SPAN 328)

Colin Koopman, Philosophy: The Internet, Society and Philosophy (PHIL 123)

Elizabeth Reis, Women’s and Gender Studies and Mary E. Wood, English: Introduction of Medical Humanities (ENG 410)

No award given

Brendan Bohannan, Biology and Ted Toadvine, Philosophy: The Philosophy of Biology—Knowledge of Nature and the Nature of Knowledge(ENVS 410/510)

Ellen Herman, History: Sexual Science, Sexual Politics (HIST 399)

Mark Johnson, Philosophy and John Lysaker, Philosophy: Sources of the Self (Phil 407/507)

John Davidson, Political Science: The Right to Life—Legal, Political, & Philosophic Perspectives (PS410/510)

Evlyn Gould, Romance Languages and Karen McPherson, Romance Languages: Great Romances: The World of Proust (RL 410/510)

Anita Weiss, International Studies: Islam and Global Forces (INTL 399)

Mark Unno, Religious Studies: Dark Self East and West (REL 353)

No award given

Jeffrey Mason, Theatre Arts: Multicultural Theatre (TA 472)

Elizabeth Reis, History: Religion and Sexuality in American History (HIST 410)

Deborah Baumgold, Political Science: Democracy in Theory and Practice (PS 410)

Judith Raiskin, Women’s Studies: Literatures and Cultures of the Pacific Islands (WST 410)

No award given

Joseph Fracchia, Clark Honors College and Clare Lees, English and Comparative Literature:
Embodied Cultures and Cultured Bodies (COLT 408)

No award given

Ken Liberman, Sociology: Yoga: Theory and Practice (REL 399)

Robert Grudin, English: On Interpretation (ENG 410)

Don Levi, Philosophy: Approaches to Death (PHIL 399)